Pioneer Championships


There is a proud history of winning on Palatine Hill. With the addition of championships in Men's Rowing and Men's Basketball in 2007, Lewis & Clark teams have won 104 total Conference Championships in 17 different sports. The Men's Track and Women's Volleyball have each won 14 titles throughout the years, with Men's Basketball right behind with 13.

In addition to team championships, individual athletes have also won championships for the Pioneers. In 2005, cross country runner Carla McHattie was the first-ever female Pioneer to win a Northwest Conference Cross Country Championship. The Pioneers have five times had the top male runner at the cross country championships, a feat twice accomplished by Chris Miller (1963, 1965) and current Pioneer coach David Fix (1967, 1968). In track, the Pioneer men have won 191 individual conference titles. The women have amassed 48 including 2007's javelin title won by Roxanne Gilbride.

In the pool, swimmer Lindsay Nixon has won back-to-back NWC championships in the 400IM as a freshman and a sophomore. She was also the conference champion in the 200 IM her rookie swim season. On the men's side, Justin Lawton won the 100 Backstroke at the 2006 NWC Championships. In all, the Pioneer men have been event champions 80 times at the Conference level and the women 51. A complete list of all the swimming and diving event champions can be fond below.


The next time you are on campus, we invite you to stop by the Pamplin Sports Center and visit the Hall of Champions, a tribute to the winning tradition of Pioneer Athletics. In the meantime, please click on the provided links to see listings of the various Pioneer Champions. Please also visit the history section for more information about the winning Pioneer tradition.