Pioneers place three runners on All-NWC Teams

Pioneers place three runners on All-NWC Teams

BROOKS, Ore. – The Lewis & Clark Pioneers ran in the 2016 Northwest Conference Cross Country Championships at Willamette Mission State Park Saturday morning. Outstanding performances by Blake Slattengren and Liam Monheim led them both to All-NWC First Team honors, while Monheim was also awarded NWC Freshman of the year for the men. Overall, the men placed fifth, 14 points behind Whitworth. On the women's side, junior Kori Greonveld came in 11th-place, securing All-NWC Second Team honors and helping the Lewis & Clark team finish fifth place overall, after a tie breaker with Puget Sound.


In the women's 6K race, Willamette's Olivia Macle, who placed second overall in the 2015 NCAA Division III National Championships, defended her 2015 NWC title with a time of 20:53.8. Greonveld was the first Lewis & Clark runner to cross the finish line, posting a time of 22:36.2 to secure 11th-place. Freshman Samantha Bowen ran a 22:53.2, crossing the finish line in 16th place, just ahead of senior Frances Swanson, who placed 18th with a time of 22:57.1. The fourth runner across the line for the Pioneers, freshman Kiera Crabtree finished 39th with a time of 24:01.5. Amelia Jackson placed 45th with a time of 24:30.0, 14 seconds ahead of 49th-place Morgan Taylor, and 22 seconds ahead of 51st-place finisher Madison Sullivan. Also finishing the race for the Pioneers was Elisabeth Kirkwood, Dawn Mist Movich- and Ina Waring-Enriquez.

Overall, the Pioneers posted 129 points, tied with University of Puget Sound and 20 points away from third place Linfield, while number one Whitworth had 42 points.


On the men's side, Willamette repeated as NWC champions for the fifth straight year, collecting only 36 points. Lewis & Clark landed in fifth place with 132 points, only 14 points behind fourth place Whitworth, and six points ahead of number six George Fox.

Brad Hodkins of Pacific Lutheran finished first in the men's 8K race with a time of 24:56.3. Slattengren crossed the finish line less than a minute later with a time of 25:36.6, while freshman Monheim finished six seconds later with a time of 25:40.9. As the first runner of freshman eligibility to cross the finish line, Monheim was awarded NWC Freshman of the year for the men. The next finisher for the Pioneers was Miguel Haro-Ruiz, who finished 36th with a time of 27:16.2. Laurence Seabrook followed in 27:41.9 for a 44th-place finish, followed by 45th-place junior Jeffrey Mullins who finished in 27:44.5. Freshmen Kurt Barbara and Sean Richardson took 50th and 56th-place, respectively. Junior Ivan Ramos-King also finished for the Pioneers. 

NWC Cross Country returns Nov. 12 for the NCAA Division III West Regional Championships at Bush Pasture Park in Salem, Ore.