Richardson finishes fifth overall at NWC Championships, Serna leads women for Pioneers

Richardson finishes fifth overall at NWC Championships, Serna leads women for Pioneers

ESTACADA, Ore. -- The Lewis & Clark Pioneers hosted the Northwest Conference Championships on their home course of McIver State Park this Saturday just two weeks after the L&C Invitational. Both the men's and women's teams finished ninth in the conference, despite some strong performances.

Junior Sean Richardson led the Pios men's team, while sophomore Genevieve Serna finished first among the women. Freshmen Adalynn Griesser, Jack Hyde, Elliot Jones and Connor Robertson all made their debut appearances at the NWC Championships. Richardson finished with a time of 26:20.4, placing him 5th overall of 63 runners, while Serna ran a time of 24:50.9, earning her 26th overall out of 73 runners.

Follow the Lewis & Clark Pioneers on social media: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | #LCXC | #RollPios | #chamPIOns

Key Moments

Matthew White placed 32nd overall for the men with a time of 27:51.2. White beat his time at last year's NWC Championships by 47.1 seconds. Sophomores Etta Moen and Alexandra Coons finished 41st and 56th, respectively, and also each beat their times from last year's NWC Championship.

Jack Hyde beat his career best time for the 8k race, running 32:15.9.

Samantha Bowen who has raced in every meet this year for the Pioneers, crossed the line 32nd overall, with a time of 25:22.7.

Deeper Look

Senior Katie Hull made her first career appearance at the NWC Conference Championships with a time of 29:03.8.

Adalynn Griesser, Kara Wood and Marcella Chavez all finished within two minutes of each other. Griesser finished 62nd overall with a time of 27:22.1, followed right behind by Wood in 63rd with a time of 27:38.0. Marcella Chavez came in 69th with a time of 28:25.4.

Looking Ahead

The Pioneers will race Sean Richardson, Matthew White, Ryan Nguyen and Miguel Haro Ruiz as individuals at the Western Regional Championships, as well as a women's team consisting of Samantha Bowen, Genevieve Serna, Etta Moen, Alexandra Coons, Adalynn Griesser, Kara Wood and Marcella Chavez with Katie Hull as an alternate.